About us

The research group Ecology of Prof. Sabine Rumpf started in February 2022.

In our research, we are combining field observations and experiments, remote sensing, and historical as well as online data sources with modelling techniques to infer impacts of environmental change on plant species distributions, diversity and performance.

Our preferred study system are alpine and arctic regions, because these relatively pristine areas allow for studying impacts of environmental change without too much direct confounding effects of human action. Furthermore, alpine and arctic regions are warming even faster than other areas on Earth, harbour disproportionately high biodiversity, and provide fundamental ecosystem services.

Understanding past and predicting future changes of these ecosystem is therefore highly important to conserve global biodiversity, reach global sustainability commitments, and ensure ecosystem integrity with immediate relevance to humankind.


Distribution list for job offers and events

Are you interested in receiving regular ecology updates on research, events, jobs, etc.? Register to our mailing list (click on the link). In case of questions, please contact maya.schroedl@clutterunibas.ch.

Follow us on Twitter @EcologyBasel


Current publications

Latest publication

From white to green: Snow cover loss and increased vegetation productivity in the European Alps

Journal: SCIENCE

https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126

 

 

University of Basel
Departement of Environmental Sciences
Research Group Ecology
Administration / Franziska Grob
Office 022C
Bernoullistrasse 32
4056 Basel
Switzerland
Tel. +41 61 207 23 11

Where to find us...

Über uns

Die Forschungsgruppe Ökologie von Prof. Sabine Rumpf startete im Februar 2022.

In unserer Forschung kombinieren wir Feldbeobachtungen und -experimente, Fernerkundung und historische sowie Online-Datenquellen mit Modellierungstechniken, um die Auswirkungen von Umweltveränderungen auf die Verbreitung, Vielfalt und Variabilität von Pflanzenarten zu untersuchen.

Unser bevorzugtes Studiensystem sind alpine und arktische Regionen, da diese relativ unberührten Gebiete es ermöglichen, die Auswirkungen von Umweltveränderungen zu untersuchen, ohne zu vieler überlagernder direkter Auswirkungen menschlichen Handelns. Darüber hinaus erwärmen sich alpine und arktische Regionen noch schneller als andere Gebiete der Erde, beherbergen eine überproportional hohe Artenvielfalt und erbringen grundlegende Ökosystemleistungen.

Das Verständnis vergangener und die Vorhersage zukünftiger Veränderungen dieser Ökosysteme ist daher von großer Bedeutung, um die globale Biodiversität zu erhalten, globale Nachhaltigkeitsverpflichtungen zu erfüllen und die Integrität des Ökosystems zu gewährleisten, mit unmittelbarer Bedeutung für die Menschheit.

 


Verteilerliste für Jobangebote und Veranstaltungen

Registrieren Sie sich für unsere Mailingliste und erhalten Sie regelmässige Updates im Bereich Ökologie zu Forschung, Veranstaltungen, Jobs, etc. Bei Fragen kontaktieren Sie bitte: maya.schroedl@clutterunibas.ch

Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter @EcologyBasel



Aktuelle Publikationen

Latest publication

From white to green: Snow cover loss and increased vegetation productivity in the European Alps

Journal: SCIENCE

https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126

Universität Basel
Departement Umweltwissenschaften
FG Ökologie
Sekretariat / Franziska Grob
Büro 022C
Bernoullistrasse 32
4056 Basel
Schweiz
Tel. +41 61 207 23 11

Wo wir zu finden sind...